The Real Fábrica de Cristales de la Granja was established in 1727 in San Ildefonso by order of King Bourbon Philip V of Spain, to the effect in particular to provide the mirrors and mirrors of the Royal Palace of Granja. The Royal Manufacture then welcomed French glass masters (1746) then German and Bohemian masters (1750), the most skilled in Europe in the 18th century. Like the porcelain factory of Buen Retiro, the tapestry factory of Santa Barbara, the crystal factory of La Granja contributed to the influence of the Spanish decorative arts.
Following the Spanish war of independence, the factory was closed in 1808, before being rehabilitated in 1815 under the reign of Fernando VII. Production continued throughout the nineteenth century, managed by private entrepreneurs and exported to Europe and across the Atlantic. To pay tribute to this know-how, a foundation and a museum were created in 1982. . In 1997 the factory is classified “Property of cultural interest” by the Spanish government. The chandelier we are presenting is a model perfectly identical to the one that is currently exhibited in the Goya Salon, Palace of the Dukes of Alba in Madrid.
Fin du XVIIIe siècle
Dimensions : H : 190 cm ; D : 115 cm